2023 Alaska Broadband Visionary Award Ceremony


Alaska Broadband Visionary Award

Recognition of Significant Contribution

The Alaska Broadband Visionary Award (ABVA) is a prestigious honor that recognizes individuals/groups who have made significant contributions towards advancing broadband infrastructure in their community. This award is presented annually to an individual/group and aims to recognize and encourage those who are driving the development and expansion of broadband infrastructure in Alaska. The Alaska Broadband Visionary Award is not just a recognition of individual achievement but a celebration of the collective effort to improve broadband infrastructure in Alaska. By recognizing those who have made significant contributions towards this goal, the ABVA aims to inspire others to get involved and continue the work of expanding access to high-speed internet in the state.

2023 Alaska Broadband Visionary Award Award

Doug Redfox of Emmonak, Alaska was awarded the first-ever Alaska Broadband Visionary Award. Doug’s visionary leadership and commitment to expanding broadband access in the community has been a driving force behind the growth of broadband infrastructure in the region. The presentation of this award is a testament to the positive impact that individuals can have in shaping the future of technology and connectivity.

The annual event took place in Washington, D.C. and was well-attended by influential leaders from the broadband industry, including Quintillion Leadership, members of Sullivan, Murkowski, and Peltola staff. Many interested Alaskans were also in attendance. Senator Murkowski expressed her gratitude to Doug with a personal thank-you note. The highlight of the event was the presentation of the award, which was personally handed over by Rep. Mary Peltola.

Doug Redfox